

BOISE COUNTY

RESOLUTION # 2007-18

A BOISE COUNTY RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING PERCENTAGES OF FUNDING TO BE ASSIGNED TOTITLE II AND TITLE III PROJECTS

WHEREAS, the counties having United States National Forests within their boundaries have been received Forest Reserve funds for roads and schools under the provisions of the Agricultural Reapportionment Act of 1908; and

WHEREAS, in the past decade federal land use policy has shifted away from multiple use approach to one in which decisions are made on a centralized basis with great attention given to single uses; and

WHEREAS, this approach has had a devastating negative impact on funding for schools and roads in forest counties; and

WHEREAS, the 110th Congress of the United States passed P.L. 110-28 which seeks to maintain multiple use land management and reconnect local communities with management decisions made about their national forests; and

WHEREAS, Congress has made provision for local projects under Title II and III of P. L. 110-28 whereby local Resource Advisory Committees will recommend projects which will enhance the safety and health of forests as well as enhance activities conducted within the National Forests within county boundaries.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Boise County intends to allocate the portion of funds which it receives for projects through the safety net payment in the following manner: Title II equal to 100% and Title III equal to 0%; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be transmitted to the Governor of the State of Idaho by such date as may be necessary for it to reach the United Stated Secretary of Agriculture by September 30, 2006; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that all jurisdictions receiving Forest Reserve Funds within Boise County receive a copy of this resolution for their official records as soon as it is officially adopted.

APPROVED AND ADOPTED by the Boise County Board of Commissioners in open session on the 25th day of June 2007.

BOISE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

7 H Taw son

Fred H. Lawson, Chairman

n 8 mon

Linda W. Zimmer, Commissioner

Terry C. Day, Commissioner

Attest: vlame Constance Swearingen, Clerk to the Board